You Can File at Any Time
There’s an expiration date on filing a claim and pursuing compensation. Every state has its statute of limitations that dictate how long you have to file a personal injury case. Four years is the standard amount of time for pursuing a case. The sooner you file, the better your chances. Letting too much time lapse could work against you and your attorney’s efforts.
Insurance Companies Will Take Care of Everything
Sadly, insurance companies protect their interests first. They will look for reasons not to pay or cover your injuries and bills. While your policy might entitle you to compensation, you still have to meet their standards of proof. A skilled attorney knows how insurance companies work and can ensure your side of the story is not only heard but accepted.
Plaintiffs are Guaranteed Compensation
If you were guaranteed payment, there would be no need to file a claim, hire an attorney or pursue a lawsuit. Nothing is certain except – you know the saying.
Your case may seem open and shut to you, but it takes a good attorney to ensure those same salient points come across legally and to a judge. Your legal representative needs to build a good case so that your win is guaranteed.
Florida PIP Will Cover Expenses
The Florida Legislature is considering repealing the state’s famous PIP insurance. Until that happens, drivers in the Sunshine State carry at least $10,000 of PIP coverage. PIP benefits cover the following:
- 80% essential medical expenses
- 80% out-of-pocket prescription bills, rehabilitation services, and dental costs
- Travel expenses to and from hospitals or doctor’s appointments
- $5,000 for death benefits
- 60% of lost income
Personal Injury Cases are Expensive
Much like Winston Law, most personal injury attorneys work on a contingency basis. That means they only get paid if their client receives compensation.
As a client, a percentage of your award or compensation covers your attorney fees. Those fees will be clearly spelled out in your contract with your attorney. Make sure to read that agreement and understand how much your likely to receive and how much your attorney will be paid.
Some states cap, to a certain extent, the percentage attorneys can charge. The Florida Bar offers a guide on attorney fees. Read this before you sign any agreement with an attorney.
You Can Handle Your Own Personal Injury Claim
You could handle your own claim. However, the chances of a successful outcome and the amount of compensation increases dramatically when you have a skilled attorney representing your interests. Managing a claim can be time-consuming, especially if you’ve never done it before. Attorneys know the law and have the experience that will likely make your claim go more smoothly and quickly.
Have a legal question that needs answering? Contact Winston Law for a free consultation.