Here’s how Florida’s No-Fault law affects compensation

No-Fault Law

With so many distractions luring your eyes off the road, it might be a good idea to familiarize yourself with Florida’s No-Fault laws. Not only will it affect how you file a claim, but it will also impact what financial compensation you’re entitled to.

Important Key Points

  • You have four years from the date of your accident to file a claim or lawsuit
  • Non-permanent injuries are covered by Florida’s PIP law.

Consumer Pamphlet: Automobile Insurance

Florida’s No-Fault Law

The Sunshine State is one of a  few states in the country that has a “no-fault” car insurance and compensation law. Essentially, when you’re in an accident, you must file a claim with your insurance company, and that includes if you’ve been injured.

Your PIP insurance covers up to $10,000 minus your deductible. PIP is designed to reduce the necessity of suing for reimbursement of medical and related bills from auto accidents. To receive PIP benefits, you must receive care within 14 days after a vehicle accident.

Here’s what you and your passengers are entitled to as long as the injuries are related to a car accident.”

  • 80% of reasonable medical expenses
  • 60% percent of lost wages
  • $5,000 for death benefits.

Your PIP coverage also covers the following:

  • Relatives who live with you
  • Passengers who do not own a vehicle
  • Others who drive your car with your permission.
  • Pedestrians and bicyclists
  • Acts of violence against you, the policyholder, while driving, including injuries as a result of road rage or a carjacking.

Covering Injuries

If your injuries are severe or permanent, you can file a claim against the other driver, and you can sue them.

Covering Auto Damages

If your car has been damaged in an accident, you can file a claim against the other driver’s insurance company.

Florida’s No-Fault law can be confusing. Contact us for a free consultation so we can assess your case.